Mig or tig.

JohnnyBgood

Supporting Member
I’m toying with the idea of purchasing a tig welder. I have a mig but I’m not very good at it and I don’t know if I can get any better...and like someone said in another thread..I’m a grinder..not a welder . So..to all of you welders out there that can mig and tig weld...even those like myself that can weld..but not very well.. anyways what is easier for the average guy and what gives better results..should I learn how to mig weld better first or is it a lost cause if I can’t mig to think I could tig....?

Anything can be learned. Whichever method is just practice, practice, practice.
The key thing is being able to see the puddle of molten metal and run a bead.

Mig welding is a one handed operation.
Tig welding is two hands that need synchronized movement, like gas welding. One hand has a torch to heat/melt the metal, and the other feeds in the filler rod. There is also a foot pedal to regulate the power.

If you have an oxy acetylene setup, I would recommend practicing running beads on some scrap metal every day before buying the tig.

Personally I have only attempted tig, I have done tons of Oxy/Ac but had trouble with the added foot thing lol. I could likely get use to the hand control unit but haven't got the time or money to buy a tig anyway so... having said that I don't think it gets any easier than mig! Not that I am welder by any stretch but I like you can stick two pieces of metal together. ;)