Greetings all, glad to be here

BC_Blowby

Hello,

My name is Eben, I’m from BC and reside in the Columbia-Shuswap region near the kootenays. I just did a lengthy post and tried to submit it but I had to log in again and lost it all.:confused:

I’m mostly into 1930’s - 1950’s cars and trucks. I’m a lover of all things Flathead related and plan to tackle my first full rebuild in the not so distant future. I’m a welder/fabricator by trade and have done a fair amount of my own body work over the last decade. I try to do as much mechanical and mods as I can on my own with occasional help from shop mates and friends.

My current driving and on going project is a 1950 2dr Ford Shoebox with a Flathead V8, a car I’ve always wanted to own. I picked it up off a gent from Kamloops in “driveable” condition back in 2015.
I listed all the work I’ve completed in detail in the post I lost which took a while and will just summarize it this time. Since 2015 I have gone over almost everything and rebuilt, replaced or renewed parts front to rear.
- rebuilt rear axle (with help from an experienced friend)
- rebuilt 3spd Borg Warner OD
- all new suspension front and rear (except rear springs I had re-arced)
- all new kingpins, bushings, bearings etc (replaced driver spindle)
- re-done dual exhaust with porter mufflers and vintage Fenton headers
- new clutch throw out bearing/clutch disc
- renewed steering linkage etc
Other goodies include rechromed bumpers, stripped and powder coated rims, all new WWW tires from Coker tire. There are a ton of odds and ends.

Most recent during winter 2017/2018 was a full front disc brake conversion, new dual res (under floor), hard line, flex line, residual valves (2lb for front 10lb for rear) and proportioning valve. One of the best upgrades I’ve done so far.

The 50 was converted to 12 volt at some point in its life but was never done quite right and I continue to have unreliable charging.