1940 dodge sedan project.

Jeremy_E

So this is a driver now but, I want to either box out the frame or find a newer frame with similar dimensions and swap the body over then run a bigger motor.
There was the idea of finding a newer charger or challenger and trying to swap.
Thoughts ???? Advise ?
Photoshop ?
I'm new to hotroding and want to do it all myself but also want to try do do it properly on a budget.

I'm not a Mopar guy but it seems to me that 383 ran strong back in the day ....any reason why it isn't around much ? I would think that they would be a low budget motor , no ?

I would keep the stock frame. Easiest is a mustang ii kit or keep the stock front end with disk brakes and add a rack and pinion for steering. Cheapest motor to install will have a carb. The new stuff requires special harnesses and computers. For a first build, keep it simple and it will get done.

Good advice from Duke and Teejay. Can you drive the car with the stock six for now? They are a pretty stout little engine.
Strongly suggest not too much disassembly. That is when new folks to the hobby lose their way as it becomes overwhelming. Heck, even overwhelming at times for those that have built several cars.
Mustang 11 would be the way to go with a 383.....all relatively low cost. As well, those are pretty stout frames already and boxing would not be required.

Last edited:
or find a newer frame with similar dimensions and swap the body over then run a bigger motor. Thoughts ???? Advise ?

I would keep the stock frame. Easiest is a mustang ii kit or keep the stock front end with disk brakes, For a first build, keep it simple and it will get done.

I think Mopar cars from about 1970 had uni-bodies, no frame as such, you could do a sub frame transplant (see )

http://canadianrodder.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20034