1927 Essex (T)RUSTY Project

Grum

I’ll start off with a bit about me. I am 23 years old, work in retail and live on a farm near Saskatoon with my dad. You’ll notice He will be doing a lot of the important (it could kill you if it goes bad) welding as I am just learning how to weld and don’t really like arc (Though I am enjoying mig).

The car is a 1927 Essex. I found it on Kijiji for $2100 on June 1st, 2014. Honestly at the time I wasn’t looking for a new project at the time but my dad and brother convinced me that I couldn’t let it go. The next day we borrowed a trailer and went and got it.

The bad: seized engine, no roof, no floor, no interior, no brakes, no glass (actually one window was included)

The good: mostly complete, rare dodge brothers grill shell, general lee wheels, extra parts included, solid frame, great look (one pair of doors had been taken out of the body making it a two door), channeled, perfect patina including 3 bullet holes

The build: I would like to say this is my first build so bear with me. This is a rat rod project and as such the goal of this car right now is to get it on the highway before august, 8 2014. After that I will be improving it to a point where I can show it off and be proud. I have a lot of good ideas where I want to take this project and I hope it all comes together.

2014-06-02133203_zps0ceae9e5.jpg

2014-06-02133211_zps5421375e.jpg

2014-06-02133228_zps2255ed87.jpg

2014-06-02133255_zpsf53e7f3b.jpg

2014-06-06121645_zps44b1d4c1.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
First time I looked, your photo links were broken.
So like a good Samaritan, I fixed what I thought was broken.
When I got that done and submitted my post, poof, your links were visible on your post ... good figure.
Must have been a momentary gliche.

Anyway welcome,
good project, a bit different, but I like different.

Last edited:
1930 sx