derusting with molasses

ss34coupe

I've been using this molasses method for the last six years, and have derusted a lot of parts. I use one part molasses to ten parts water, and buy the molasses from feed shops (about 17 bucks for a 30 pound pail). My 4 foot long by two foot high and two foot deep tank takes two pails to fill. Got a bigger tank as well recently, but have not got it ready for use yet. It is big enough to do doors, fenders, hoods etc.

Here are some shots of the B pillars for my 33 coupe - before and after.

I know how it works for me, but I would be interested in hearing if others use this method and how it works for you.

Last edited:
try the photos again, I am not good a putting two up at once, so it might take two posts.

Before......
100_0829.jpg

Our much beloved D-Joe has a molasses tank ,too!Good to see the results,makes me wanna give it a try!

yep, I have one side in the tank. I want to take comparison photos of the other rusty side, and will post on here. Anybody up in Kamloops use the molasses derusting method?

No body that I know of Steve,but I intend to soon.
I cant imagine a better way to do the same job.
Thanks for the insight.
I have seen a few parts that Davey has done and it is very impressive.

Kelly

ss34coupe,How long did you leave the door pillars soak in the molasses mix? Thanks, Brendan.

Ok... can you guys that have the tanks, please post a how to/ tech artical on how to make/use a molasases tank? I want to see how you made it/ what you used. cause I think what I have in mind is not exactly what you guys have built or use.... lets see what you got!

Some "Tank" idears...

From any size beer cooler. :eek: to A childs plastic sandbox with a lid. Some have used an old home oil tank, cut open (large enough to dip a door) :D