Quadrajet rebuild

Ken47

Supporting Member
I bought a quadrajet carb off of kijiji this week. $20. It’s from a 1976 gm 350. I’m going to rebuild it just for fun and for something to do😄. It’s pretty clean for an old carb. Soaked it in pine sol all day today and it cleaned right up. looks almost like new. it doesn’t look like it’s ever been apart but all of the screws that hold the body together were barely tight. When I took the inlet fuel filter out I found a hard shell beetle jammed in the filter inlet. That could explain why the guy took it off. One problem I do see is there is a lot of slack between the primary throttle shaft and the housing. I’m going to put some bushings in there. An excuse to buy a new tool😄😄 I’ll post some more as I progress through this effort.

I'll be watching this. I have to do this same project. I already have the reamer and the bushings, but I have never done it before. I got the carb from a mechanic that said he couldn't get it to run right, but a lot of what I read says that the primary throttle shaft bushings need to be tight to avoid vacuum leaks. This carb has loose bushings.
Waiting and watching. You do it, and I'll follow suit.

I just ordered the reamer and bushings today. I watched a you tube video on replacing them. ( there seems to be a you tube video on everything 😄.) It looks reasonably easy. One reamer I looked at said it was self piloting (aligning) but from the picture of it I couldn’t figure out how it was self piloting. If this doesn’t work I’ll just have one more piece of shelf art😄😄
The pine sol soak worked pretty good. Took Looks of hand tooth brush work too though. 😄

I have been suspect of carburetor mechanics since I wore a younger man's clothes. It was nice to buy gas back then. Ray Ruff would come out to the pumps, and tell you to pop the hood while he was pumping your gas. He went for a screwdriver, and adjusted the carb, and said to try that, it sounds a little better.