HELP! BC & ON insurance complications

NOCHE 53

Hi, folks.
Brand new guy here looking for some help from the "experts." :cool:

This week I flew out to BC from my ON home and purchased a '53 Chevy 3100 that was earlier modified and was currently registered and insured in BC.

-- I transferred the ownership into my name and bought a 3-day temporary permit from BC which included ICBC insurance to drive it to the custom rod shop in Langley, BC, where some major upgrades will be done.

-- When the work is done, I will fly back to BC to pick up my dream ride and drive home to ON.

1. During the work at the rod shop in BC, I cannot purchase ICBC restoration/garage insurance because I am an ON resident without a BC address. They said I should have left the title in the name of the original owner until I had the custom work completed. But that idea put up a whole lot of red flags for me...

2. My ON car insurer will not insure me because the vehicle is not yet registered in ON. It would need to be here first for that and I would need to also have a Safety Certificate. They will not insure "unfit" vehicles; only vehicles registered as roadworthy.

3. When I drive home from BC I can again by a temporary permit and insurance from ICBC but I will only be covered for the book value of a 53 Chevy pickup and that is next to nothing. I estimate the truck will be worth about $40,000 when done. ICBC said they could do an agreed-value type appraisal etc. but they said they would take at least 2 months once the vehicle is completely done.....

Does anyone have a solution for me? I called a Hagerty rep on their 1-800 line and he said they couldn't help because I was an ON resident with a vehicle registered in BC....

The vehicle is at the rod shop now and I have absolutely NO comprehensive insurance on it. I'm basically self-insured.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer. I'm hopeful that someone else has navigated through a similar problem.

:rolleyes: