edelbrock vs quadrajet

I'll vote for Qjet... super reliable.

Doug Roe's book is all you need to rebuild them.

https://www.amazon.com/Rochester-Carburetors-Revised-Doug-Roe/dp/0895863014

They are more complex than a Holley or Edelbrock (based on Carter), but I've had nothing but great luck with them. I have rebuilt 6 in all and never had a problem. In the early 90's you could still pull them for about $10 used. :)

I have tons of used parts (secondary rods) which helps in tuning them. Also, if you like the secondaries to come on fast, you can play with the mechanism, etc.

Bottom line is they don't leak, and you can make good power with decent economy depending on how you set them up.

+++++++++

Having said that, and with the proviso that I have little experience with Edelbrock, I have lots of buddies that love them, too. Simpler than Qjet and supposedly reliable.

Last edited:
The book I have is by Cliff Ruggles and it appears to be very good. Haven't got all the way through it yet, but he covers everything that I can think of. The man has 40 years experience with these things.

Now when GM was starting to put the Q-Jets on everything, Rochester couldn't keep up with the demand. So the General went to Carter and had them make enough to keep up. Other than the name on the side, the carbs were the same.

There are minor size differences in some of the venturi's and air horns for the bigger displacement motors and of course any number of different metering rods and so on. But the basic carb remained unchanged for all those years that the Q-Jet was in use.

Too bad I didn't stockpile a few at your $10 price tag...look and see what they are gouging for a running Jet these days.

Cocobolo
I have a big box full. If you need one for rebuilding, let me know.