Brakes - Head scratching

Admin

Administrator
Hi everyone. Your thoughts please. (BTW not many Help threads. Only one this year)

In any case:

- on the coupe I've been working on forever, I have an underfloor master with dual diaphragm booster.
- disks on all four corners. GM 154 style calipers in front and Wilwood 4-piston rear
- residual check valves front / rear
- 14" Vac at idle (383) - tested at the vac hose at booster location.

Issue
- after bleeding numerous times and without engine running, pedal is very firm
- with engine running, pedal is very soft and doesn't get firm until at least 50% pedal travel.

I have to assume that the booster is working as the very hard pedal disappears after start up BUT why the excessive travel?

Thoughts?

Last edited:
Frank. You also need a check valve to the front because your m cyl is lower than the calipers. Also….push rod length?

Keith, I have a check valve to front. Sorry, forgot to specify - made edit

Push rod length as in between master and booster?

Yes. Push rod between master and booster. As I recall residual check valves for disc brakes are 2 lbs.

Yes. Push rod between master and booster. As I recall residual check valves for disc brakes are 2 lbs.
Push rod between MC and booster was done correctly on install. Res check vales are 2 lbs. After talking to a bunch of people, most insist this condition is indicative of air still in the system somewhere.

Frank, I had a hell of a time bleeding my (4) 4 piston wilwood calipers on my project. I bench bled the MC about 4 times and still couldn't get a hard pedal. I was assuming that you only needed to bleed through one of the 2 bleed screws on each caliper. Finally I bled all 8 bleeders and finally got a somewhat hard pedal. It seems soft to me but I am hoping with the hydroboost assist it will feel better.